The story

List of the main facts that marked the history of Brazil (continued)

List of the main facts that marked the history of Brazil (continued)

We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Brazil Republic

1889 - Proclamation of the Republic. Ban of the Imperial Family and formation of a Provisional Government headed by Deodoro.
- First measures of the new government: modification of the National Flag, freedom of cults, separation of church and state, creation of the Civil Registry and secularization of cemeteries.

1890 - Encilling: financial crisis caused by Finance Minister Rui Barbosa.

1891 - Promulgated the first Constitution of the Republic. Deodoro is elected President of the Republic by the National Congress and Floriano Peixoto Vice. Coup d'etat. Deodoro resigns after a series of frictions with Congress and a failed coup attempt. Floriano (the "Iron Marshal") takes over the head of the state.

1893 - The Federalist Revolution begins in Rio Grande do Sul, extending to Santa Catarina and Paraná.

1893 - Armada Uprising in Rio de Janeiro, with the participation of royalists. When they leave Guanabara Bay, the Armada rebels join the federalists in the South.

1894 -End of the Republic of the Sword (1889/94) and the beginning of the Republic of Oligarchies (1894/1930).
- Election of the civil Prudente de Morais for the Presidency of the Republic.

1897 - Prudente de Moraes suffers an attack. The Canudos camp is destroyed by federal troops.

1898 - Elected President of the Campos Sales Republic, creator of the “Coffee-with-Milk Policy” and the “Governors Policy”.

1903 - Revolt in Acre against Bolivia. Placido de Castro proclaims the independence of the state and months later the territory is annexed to Brazil.

1903 - “Vaccine Uprising” in Rio de Janeiro, also involving popular dissatisfaction with poor living conditions and high prices.

1906 - The Taubaté Agreement proposes solutions to the coffee overproduction crisis. State governments should buy and stock surplus production.

1907 - Congress approves the Law of Repression of Anarchism, authorizing the deportation of foreigners linked to the labor movement.

1908 - Creation of the Brazilian Workers Confederation. The first Japanese immigrants arrive in Brazil.

1909 - Death of Afonso Pena. Vice Nilo Peçanha takes over the Presidency. - Presidential candidacy of Marshal Hermes da Fonseca and breaking of the “Coffee-with-Milk Policy”.

1910 - Hermes da Fonseca is elected president and Wenceslas Brás deputy.
- Chibata Uprising, claiming better conditions for Navy sailors.
- Creation of the Indian Protection Service (currently FUNAI), headed by then Major Cândido Rondon.

1912 - Contest Campaign: destruction by the Army of the messianic nuclei installed in the region of the border between Paraná and Santa Catarina.

1914 - Conflict in Ceará against the government of Franco Rabelo. Jagunços commanded by Father Cicero and Floro Bartolomeu occupy Vale do Cariri.

1915 - Anarchists organize National Peace Congress to Protest against World War I.

1916 - Founded the National Defense League. End of the Contested War.

1917 - General strike paralyzes the city of São Paulo, German ships torpedo Brazilian ships. In retaliation, Brazil enters the war.

1918 - Presidential elections. Rodrigues Alves is elected president and Delfim Moura, vice. Spanish flu spreads through Sao Paulo and other regions of the country.

1920 - Conflict in Bahia. Federal intervention is enacted.

1922 - Copacabana Fort Revolt (The 18 of the Fort), being the first revolt of the tenentista movement.
- The Modern Art Week is held in São Paulo.
- Founding of the Communist Party of Brazil (PCB), improperly known as the “Brazilian Communist Party” (denomination made official only in the late 1950's).

1923 - Crisis in the state of Rio de Janeiro. Federal Intervention.

1924 - Another São Paulo revolt against the federal government erupts in São Paulo. The Prestes Column begins.

1926 - Creation of the Democratic Party in São Paulo.

1927 - Instituted the female vote in Rio Grande do Norte.

1928 - Foundation of the Center of Industries of the State of São Paulo (CIESP).

1929 - Getúlio Vargas candidacy launched.

1930 - Begins in Rio Grande do Sul and in the northeast the Revolution of 1930, ending the First Republic (or Republic of Oligarchies) and beginning of the Vargas Era.

1931 - The Ministry of Labor, Industry and Commerce is created. The promulgation of social laws begins.

1932 - New Electoral Code establishes the secret ballot and the right of women to vote and to be voted.
- The São Paulo Constitutionalist Revolution begins: an armed movement with the objective of
hasten the reconstitutionalization of the country (attempt by the paulista oligarchy to regain power).

1933 - National Constituent Assembly installed, elected by secret ballot and with the participation of the female electorate.

1934 - The second Constitution of the Republic is enacted, which incorporates labor legislation and recent electoral improvements; creation of the “class deputies” (20% of the total).
- Vargas is indirectly elected to the Presidency of the Republic, with a four-year term.